To become a good citizen or benefit students as individuals

Some people think that the main purpose of schools is to teach children to be a good citizen or worker rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what

extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people argue that teaching students to become good citizens is more significant than to benefit them as individuals, however, in my view, both approaches are equally important.

There are several reasons why instructing children to be normal and decent citizens is important.

Firstly, governments allocate a proportion of financial resources to education system with aims for teaching children to become good people in the societies, and hopefully expecting that one day they will contribute back to society.

No communities want to develop citizens that will become villains and rob or kill other kind and friendly people.

I believe that is certainly correct for schools to teach students basic ethical concepts so that they will not become bad people in the future.

Secondly, from the economic point of view, students would benefit them most if they could get the most out of education system and learn how to make a living as much as possible.

In other words, learning how to become a good worker means a lot for students because they might have better opportunities to find a job and become financial-independent in societies. And it would lead to economic for governments.

On the other hand, I believe that helping students to find out what characteristics they have and what sorts of people they would like to be in the future is equally essential.

Everyone has different kinds of personality and attribute, even for twins. Teachers at schools are hired to teach not only common knowledges, but also help to find out what sorts of potential the students have.

For example, my high school teacher gave me a helpful advice when I was faced to choose which university subject is most suitable to me. He had known me for three years and could help me to analyze my different abilities.

Eventually, he helped me to pick up one subject which I have passion on as well. I was really grateful about what he had done at that time because it affected me profoundly for the rest of my life.

In conclusion, although it is important to teach students to become a good citizen from the governments' point of view, I believe that it is equally significant to help students find out who they truely are.