It has become an issue of whether it is more beneficial to travel in our own country or not

Topic:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In contemporary society, it has become an issue of whether it is more beneficial to travel in our own country or not. People's opinions vary from person to person. Some claim that we can get more benefits from traveling to foreign countries, however, others hold the opposite view. As far as I'm concerned, I would prefer the viewpoint that it is better to travel abroad for a spectrum of reasons.

Firstly, we can improve our foreign language proficiency. It must be the best opportunity for us to learn a language in this way since we put ourselves in a place where we have got to speak the local language or we cannot communicate with others, and this is the key to learning a language. To illustrate my point, the experience of traveling abroad alone can be cited as an example. I went to Canada in my sophomore year for a trip. One of the reasons that I went there is to learn English. I pushed myself to have a chat with others and engaged in local activities. In the middle of the trip, I found out that I have an astonishing improvement in my English ability. I can speak English fluently with no accent and I got their point what they said in conversation.

Additionally, we can broaden our horizons. Since it is difficult for us to fully realize the foreign culture just by watching TV or reading the news, we have to go there and merge into the local life. It reminds me of an example that matches my idea to the fullest extent. I went to China in my freshman year. Before I went there, I had no idea why they ate spicy food. I initially thought that it is because they like to eat spicily. However, after this trip, I finally understood that they eat spicy food because of the local wet and scorching environment.

In conclusion, I believe that we gain more from having a trip abroad. This is because we can strengthen our foreign language proficiency and because we can expand our horizons.