Do we become used to bad news? Information in the world today.

IELTS task 2: News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Nowadays is the world of information and every mass media try to inform their audiences and readers by any method. So, the role of individuals, who in charge of selecting and decide what we watch or read, is very important, because they can make inclination of their media in a particular subject. Editors are one of the mentioned person or by far the most important one in the process of broadcasting news.

For this reason, he/she should enjoy some remarkable trait which affect his/her main decisions.

In my point of view a new editor should have two main features, to be unbiased and have comprehensive knowledge about every reported subject (political, economy, sport, ...).

A new editor must be an unbiased person in order to make a confidence sense in their audience or readers, as you know, we are living in the information era and every people can easily distinguish each real an unbiased news from fake and distorted one. Therefore, editors should be careful not to meddle in their personal believes during selecting news procedure.

Another factor is vast knowledge of an editor about different aspect of news. When you have a comprehensive knowledge about any subject, you can properly make decision and have a good choice in broadcasting news. Furthermore, this feature of an editor causes to prevent of publishing and broadcasting less meaningful and distorted news.

Some people are of the opinion that every mass media must to broadcast only good news. In my opinion, these group of people don't want encounter with reality, because they think that, as they are facing with too much difficulties in everyday life, only good news must be broadcasted, their point of view is only fun and don't involve in reality of world.

In conclusion, these are a part of editor characteristics and there are many important features which could be investigated from different aspect. In addition, I personally believe, it is necessary to be a rational balance between good and bad new .