Becoming familiar with a foreign language at primary school gives more advantages for children

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, as children are part of globalization, they are obligated to understand and speak second language besides their mother tongue. That is why some specialists think that starting to study foreign language at elementary school is much better than commencing to learn at junior high school. However other argue that it is bad decision since it has demerit effect. In my opinion, the potential of its benefit are greater than detrimental points.

Learning foreign language for children in primary school will distract their concentration in understanding basic knowledge such as mathematics, science, and particularly their mother language. In addition, they are not ready yet to learn other language because they do not have widely sufficient information about fundamental knowledge of their mother tongue. For example, children studying foreign language will be confused how to manage themselves to learn such different lessons which is basically difficult and requires a plenty of time also practice at the same time. These probably lead them to series problems and make them eventually bored or ignored.

In contrast, based on recent research, learning foreign language at elementary school is the best time in spite of secondary school. In fact, pupils at elementary school have passed their stage at language acquisition of mother language when they reach golden age, from 1 to 5 years old. In addition, research reveals that children's brain in the age of elementary school is ready to develop and accept new language marked by more clear at their pronunciation. The reason is that their basic knowledge of their first language will help them to comprehend the new form of language. Studying foreign language also acquires students at elementary school to recognize other cultures and create them more tolerant.

To conclude, despite the fact that there is detrimental effect for the children at elementary school, I believe that it has abundant merits that help them survive when challenge globalization in the future. Furthermore it needs great system of education to manage and elaborate it to become more appropriate for children at elementary school.