It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off before going to university.

12 months break from school

While some students decide to learn at universities after graduating from high schools, there are more and more people who want to have a gap year before going to University. Although it is likely to bring about many benefits, I suppose that the drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, there are several reasons leading to the decision of learning delay. The first one is because many students such as Vietnamese ones, have been swamped with a huge amount of knowledge so a year off to relieve stress from studying will help them balance their life. Another explanation for this trend is that some people tend to find a suitable job to prepare enough money for years at college. For instance, living expenses in major cities is extremely expensive, a truth that explains why many students coming from rural areas must take part-time job to meet their basic needs.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of a gap year before college are varied. Firstly, most of students will forget the majority of knowledge because human's brains will fall into passive state after a long time it is not used to think about lessons. Moreover, if a student does not study for a year, he or she will graduate from university late than friends and finding a job opportunity for that student will become more difficult in the future as a consequence.

In conclusion, despite some benefits in terms of relaxation or other demands, taking a year off before college life is not really necessary.