Toefl: Beethoven - The influential person I would choose to meet in one hour

Imagine that you can talk for 1 hour with any person who has lived at any time in the history. Which person would you choose to meet? Use specific details and examples to explain your choice.

My essay: I'm practicing to write quickly in only 20 minutes so this composition may be rather boring. Yet, I hope feedback from someone for more interesting ideas or grammar and vocabulary corrections. :D

It cannot be denied that Beethoven is one of the greatest musicians in the history. If I could have a chance to meet a person who had substantial contributions to the society, I would choose to spend that moment with Beethoven.

There are many reasons for me to consider Beethoven to be the person I would like to have a small conversation with. First, I have admired his rare talents and been a lover of classical music since I was small. I sometimes wonder how he could compose all those amazing and gorgeous songs. Therefore, I would make use of that one hour asking him some questions about the period when he composed those songs, namely what he drew inspirations from and his feelings when he completed them.

Second, although there were many other genius at music, Beethoven is the only one I would like to meet because I appreciate his strength, which helped him to overcome his terrible disability to continue composing masterpieces. For a musician, his greatest agony must be that he could not enjoy music works himself. However, despite being hearing-impaired, Beethoven was courageous to encounter his obstacle and did not give up his talent. He used something like a chopstick to feel the frequency of the sound instead of hearing by ear. It was nothing short of miracle that he could still compose more beautiful songs.

Third, I hope to have a meeting with Beethoven because I would like him to play some of his compositions. I have collected all the Beethoven music albums since childhood but I think it would be an interesting experience to hear the musician play his own songs. Maybe the musician is the only one who would be able to enjoy the pure beauty of the message from the songs and the heavenly melodies they bring to listeners. Therefore, it would be my most wonderful and unforgettable moment to enjoy Beethoven play his own compositions.

In conclusion, Beethoven is well-respected by people all over the world, on account of not only his gifted talent but also his courage to overcome the most difficult times. The audience, especially classical music lovers will probably regard him as one of the most influential musicians at all times.