IELTS- begin language learning from elementary school compared to secondary school

Learning foreign language has been increasingly essential in the borderless world. Such education is provided for students as the national curriculum. However, there have been many hot debates about time to start teaching between primary and secondary school. Although initial learning in secondary school has also improved language, earlier learning since primary school have taken more advantages.

Children aged between 4 to 10 years old, in primary school, have much more brain growth than another level. As a result, potential elementary students can maximize their language proficiency without too much effort, namely faster learners. For instance, many five-year old students can speak to foreigners fluently on TV. On the other hand, students in secondary school tend to afford more language classes to achieve the same level.

Unlike elementary school, students at secondary school have lots of subjects to pay attention so that they do not have enough time for languages. As an example, they usually spend above three hours of home works for math and science. On the contrary, student at primary school have less subjects and most of them put emphasis on imagination which foreign language is one of those.

In brief, foreign language acquisition in elementary school is much easier than secondary school in terms of their quicker brain development and the small amount of subjects to learn. To maximize language competency, school should incorporate this course starting early in primary school.