I believe that the knowledge that I have acquired from my experiences is more important - TOEFL

It has been said "Not everything that is learned is contained in books." Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

I have a great passion for reading books because they have opened my eyes on many facts and have shaped my way of thinking. However, despite of the undeniable benefits of books, I still believe that the knowledge that I have acquired from my experiences is more important because it enabled me to develop my skills and be more mature.

First of all, experience gives us the chance to improve our skills. When we want to learn a new skill, reading about it in books is not always sufficient. We generally have to experience it and practice it until we master it. For example, in order to learn academic writing, I did not just read books that deal with this topic but I also practised writing every day.

Additionally, with experience, we become more mature. It teach us how get ourselves from troubles. For instance, managing to get myself out from a difficult situation will teach me more than if I read a story about how to deal with troubles in a book, which I may forget after a while.

To sum up, books have a valuable importance; however, it is outweighed by the importance of experience. This latter allows us to hone our skills and practise the different knowledge that we read about them in books.