IELTS 2 Some believe that nuclear weapons benefit the world at large. To what extent do you agree?

nuclear weapons dilemma

In this modern era, nuclear weapons are commonly used as a display of a country's strength and development all over the world. While many people believe that these powerful weapons are beneficial on a large scale, I completely differ on this opinion due to several reasons.

The first argument given to support my belief is that nuclear weapons are so destructive that they could annihilate the whole city and put millions of lives at stake. According to experts, one nuclear bomb detonation is capable of creating a total absence of all signs of life in a large area. Furthermore, nuclear weapons have their roots in fatal illnesses and gradual deaths in the long term. Here I am referring to people contaminated with radioactive fallout. These people run a higher risk of contracting cancer and dying at a younger age. Take a look at the Hiroshima and Nagasaki case, numerous citizens nowadays are still suffering from the 1945 nuclear bombs' effect.

Another point behind my belief is that it is a complete waste of money to invest billions in nuclear weapons and the citizens could hardly get any benefits from it. Instead of tackling ongoing issues such as the increasing rate of crime, unemployment, and poverty, the government places too much unnecessary emphasis on operating a superior nuclear weapons scheme. Moreover, with the detrimental effects of nuclear weapons, the authority has to once again finance an enormous amount of money for rebuilding, reconstructing facilities, and medical treatment in the aftermath.

In conclusion, although it appears that nuclear weapons are such formidable tools that every country desires, I believe that the world would be better off without them.