Toefl - Do you believe that online courses should replace classroom learning?

In the era of digitalization, online courses are gaining increasing importance, especially for employed people. This kind of courses offers the possibility to attend classes without missing your job and studying in the free time.

Nevertheless I'm still convinced that classroom learning is more effective. I feel this way for three reasons which I will discuss in the following essay.

First of all, I consider imprescindible the presence of a real professor. It's true that actually renowned professors are getting involved more and more in online courses, but I believe that the possibility of interaction and confrontation during a class it's one of the milestones of the learning process. My personal experience is a good example of this. A lot of times during my university career I obtained excellent marks thanks to notes taken during the classes, highlighting specific explanations of my professors.

Secondly, I think that the social dimension of the university has to be widely considered. Why not going to class and have the opportunity to share your point of view, your opinions and, sometimes, great part of your life, with people who have same interests and ambitions? I've known most of my actual friends during the period of university and, although I have changed city, I talk with them every time I could. Maybe one day you will change city and one of your former friends of the university is living there, certainly he could give you some good recommendation and help you in the integration process.

Furthermore, I believe that to attend an online course you should possess a great capability of concentration. Personally I've never succeed to study at home because there are a lot of distractions, like mobile, computer, television etc.. On the other hand, during a class you have to maintain your attention continuously, professors don't allow to use mobile and you could ask help to a colleague in case you have missed a passage.

In conclusion, even if online courses are a considerable option in terms of flexibility, especially for workers who want to extend their academic knowledge, I give more importance to the human aspect, both for the presence of the professor and the other students.