Some believe that work experience is way more crucial than what is currently being taught at schools

Work experience vs theories

In today's job market it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that work experience is way more crucial than what is currently being taught at schools, universities and similar. Therefore, eventually qualifications may no longer be of use to apply for a job. I completely disagree with this statement and thus will be pleased to discuss two reasons why I believe qualifications will always remain relevant in today's world.

First of all, while some jobs do not require any qualifications, a number of other profession consider them a must, as most people will not able to carry out the task assigned to them, unless they have learned the basics of a certain profession, which could usually be found at the universities. They will provide their students with essential skills to help them successfully perform the job given to them in the most effective and efficient manner possible, resulting in their students being desirable to their potential employers; practical experience is no substitute for this type of experience. For example, in order to work as an accountant in Australia, it is of utmost importance to acquire at least a bachelor degree majoring in accounting or even CPA: without either of these qualifications, the chance of landing an accounting job these days in Australia is slim.

Apart from qualifications being simply imperative for some profession, our education system is becoming increasingly more practical, and if this trend continues to thrive, qualifications may become the only requirements needed to become employed. This is not at all surprising, considering our education system is mediocre; in fact, this system has received a plethora of criticisms regarding its theory-based nature which in turn have encouraged our educational institutions to focus more on the practical side of the major. For instance, at the University of Sydney, students who are involved in their major-related activities obtain extra credit points, allowing them to graduate from university earlier than usual.

Having discussed the importance of qualifications in today's world, it can be concluded that they are and will remain vital in the future due to the fact that some jobs will always demand them, and in the future, these qualifications will be more practical than ever before and therefore, more desirable to their potential employers. That being said, work experience is undoubtedly important. However, I refuse to believe that practical experience will ever be able to replace formal qualifications because of the aforementioned reasons.