I have always believed that hard work is the key to success - TOEFL independent essay

"When people succeed, it is because hard work. Luck has nothing to do with this success." Do you agree or disagree with the quotation above? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

There is a proverb that goes "genius is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent perspiration". Although some people spend their whole lives waiting for a miracle to make their dreams come true. I have always believed that hard work is the key to success, especially for people who want to achieve an academic success or to be wealthy.

To begin with, People must work hard in order to succeed at school. Success can be achieved by trying several times, no matter what difficulties people face. They must not let themselves defeated by previous failures. For example, even though I got seventeen in the writing section last time I took the TOEFL test, which was the first time I take it, I did not stop practicing hard to improve my score in this section.

Additionally, people who want to be rich cannot depend on only luck to succeed. Even luck needs preparation which is based on hard work. As the saying goes "luck is when preparation meets opportunity." For instance, I heard about a man who became rich by winning the lottery. But his fortune did not last forever because he did not use it in a financial project. Thus, a stroke of luck can make a person wealthy but it does not make him a successful person; however, making good plans,to use gained money in projects, and working hard to realize these plans can make a person successful .

To sum up, I believe that without hard work people cannot achieve success. Even the success achieved by chance is temporary, and does not last for a long time without making efforts and working hard.