It's believed that sharing scientific, technological or academic knowledge freely is beneficial

Please help me with this essay (Writing Task 2 in the Ielts test). Thanks in advance!!

SHARING VALUABLE INFORMATION

Topic: Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important and too valuable to be shared freely.

It is often claimed that sharing scientific, technological or academic knowledge freely is beneficial. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that some information should be kept confidential.

On the one hand, it is understandable why there is a belief that information in terms of science, business and technology should be accessible. For one, people will be raised their awareness to enhance their life by getting access to certain scientific researches. The natural ecosystem and people's health have been threatened by great changes in the environment in recent years. For example, the phenomenon of climate change spread widely in our society encourages scientists to carry out geoengineering projects to reduce the effects of global warming on the Earth. In addition, the lack of information in the academic world would be a noticeable obstacle for students to achieve efficiency in their self-learning processes. This is because it is difficult for those to update the newest mainstream related to their major which is excluded in their textbook.

On the other hand, I would maintain that some secret information should be available to a certain extent. For example, if information related to nuclear weapons science falls into wrong hands, it is more likely to trigger exponentially war or terrorist activities. Another reason is that it takes researchers much time and effort to complete their researches, therefore people who want to be accepted to their works are advisable to pay for scientists' endeavors. This can be explained by the fact that researchers do not have funds for their works, hence they are not encouraged to continue to generate science if people do not give them credit by a bit payment.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is better to safeguard the information that is sensitive and valuable to organizations and countries.