The benefits of the domestic travel

Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

Many people claim that traveling overseas have more benefits than traveling within your country because people will have the opportunity to try a new experience by communicating with foreigners, live their traditions, and eat their foods. However, I fully disagree with this belief and I will support this stance by presenting several acceptable reasons.

The first reason for my opinion is that traveling in my own country is safer than traveling to a f foreign country. The safety is very important for travelers, and people consider it as the most important aspect, when they plan for a new trip. Since I am living in the United states, I am familiar with the safety system in the country. I know how to call the police department and how to report any violence against me or my family. Moreover, If someone stole my credit card, I would call my bank to stop my credit card's activities.

The second reason for my belief is that the domestic traveling is cheaper than traveling overseas. To travel overseas, we have to use the fly system to get to our new destinations. However, the average cost of any travel by plane is $1500 in regular seasons for the economy class, and the price will jump up to $5000 at least in high seasons. Therefore, I prefer to use my car to travel domestically and spend my vacation in New Orleans, Louisiana or Orlando, Florida and pay $300 for transportation rather than throw my money to have a vacation in Turkey or Egypt.

In conclusion, people like to have an new experience by traveling to a foreign country because they like to see a new culture and live in a different lifestyle for 10 days or 20 days, but I disagree with this notion at all. I believe traveling within my country will allow me to have a safe vacation and non costly vacation.

This essay is for the second question of TOEFL exam.