IELTS Writing Task 2: Essay on benefits of international sports events to host country

Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Sports events, especially international ones, have always been attracting lots of attention worldwide. It is argued that these events can bring many benefits to the host country. Personally, I completely agree with this view and this essay will clarify my view further.

First and foremost, a chance to host a global sports event can bring about a good opportunity to boost the local economy through tourism. Once a country has been chosen as the gathering place of an event, it will certainly become the centre of attraction. To be more specific, there will be more infrastructure built to meet the demand of visitors from all over the world. As a result, the living standards of the local will also be raised, and there is likely to be a dramatic development in the domestic economy. Take Russia for example. Their people and government gained a lot of money during the 2018 World Cup that took place there.

In addition, a competition held in the native country can create a more relaxing environment for the local athletes. In particular, when they come out into the stadium, they know for sure that most of the audiences are supporting them through applause, slogans and yellings. That will obviously give them strength and motivation to play against the other team. Moreover, the host country will have the priority over others in terms of adding their favourable sports as well as eliminating disadvantageous ones.

In conclusion, a country can benefit a lot from an international sports event through both material and spiritual aspects.