The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree?

The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

The proliferation of nuclear technology has led to public concern as to whether nuclear power has more benefits than its drawbacks. Although the potential threats cannot be neglected, it is believed that the advantages provided by nuclear power outweigh the shortcomings.

Admittedly, developing nuclear energy poses certain degree of threat to human beings due to the usage of radioactive materials and the safety of nuclear plants. Considered the example of meltdown of three nuclear reactors in Japan few years ago, the leakage of radiation has caused serious pollution to the surrounding areas and it is expected to take decades to fully clean up the contaminated regions.

However, nuclear energy indeed produces a relatively low amount of carbon dioxides which is the major cause of global warming. Since the consequence of global warming on public health and environment is enormous, shifting from fossil fuel to nuclear power can alleviate the problem of global warming by reducing the production of carbon dioxides.

Moreover, the traditional means of energy resources are scarce and they are expected to be fully exhausted within decades. While alternative energy such as solar energy are not ready to be widely used because of the enormous capital cost and the ineffectiveness, nuclear power is considered to be a economic resource that can be adopted to substitute traditional fossil fuels.

To conclude, it is undeniable that potential radiation leakage in nuclear plants could lead to a lethal accident. However, the immediate positive outcomes of adopting nuclear technology by far overcome the possible negative impact. Plus radiation outbreak is a rare incident since nuclear energy plants have strict set of rules regarding the safety and precaution of handling radioactive materials.