Beowulf, the theme of mortality

I've been given the prompted: "How does the story of Beowulf present the theme of mortality, and what points of view are conveyed in response to mortality, by the character an narrator." and was asked to write a 1200 paper on it (not including the quotes).

So far I have a little over 550, and am pulling at my hair on what other ideas/thoughts I might be able to add.

I'd love to get feed back on general thoughts, grammar, ideas that are missing, what you think would be beneficial to add and of course if anything else pops up to you, I'd love to hear it.

The story of Beowulf showcases the inevitability of death, from two different and often contradictory perspectives: the characters' and the narrator's. The latter is inconsistent because it includes the social and religious beliefs of the multiple authors from pre-Christian to post-Christian philosophy. Ultimately, the narrative underscores the idea that if individuals are true warriors then they will unite with God after their deaths. In this story the narrator fluctuates between both Christian and Anglo-Saxon ideology. Contrary to the narrator's perspective, the players of the tale believe simply in history and the immortality that is achieved through permeating themselves with history. It is necessary to show respect for the dead through vengeance and traditional grieving. The inevitability of death throughout the story, '...death is not easily escaped from by anyone...' (1001-1002) is one of the strongest themes of the story. The notion of mortality on an individual level and on the whole and individually is used to enforce the moral system of the culture; whether through the dogmatic belief of joining with God in their death or preserving self through history.

Due to the tale's multiple authors through out-time, the narrator contains both a strong Anglo-Saxon, 'So every man should at, be at hand when needed,' (2708-2709) and Christian, 'so ought a kinsman act...concerned for the other's good' (2166,3171) view of proper conduct. It is that belief which creates the idea that if they follow their moral conduct 'its (their) destined place among the stead fast ones.' (2820) to 'where he will lodge for a long time in the care of the Almighty.' (3108-3109)

Within the narrator's view, implications of God's sway over events, particularly the lives and deaths of men, 'Past and present, God's will prevails,' (1057); Beowulf was simply acting in concert with God, each of his victories was thanks to Him. However, Beowulf and the many other characters view his triumphs much differently, 'often for undaunted courage, fate spares the man it has not already marked,' (572,573). The 'godly' power that Beowulf describes differs greatly to the all-powerful God that the Narrator portrays. He claims his fate has not been decided yet, the qualities of a true warrior will allow him to succeed. Many of the characters view Beowulf's heroic acts as his own, as opposed to that of God, and thus celebrate him throughout his life and through this tale, in death.

The entire 'wyrd' culture of the Vikings is based on a karmic view of life, death and war. Death is as common as their love of mead and medieval warriors see the death of their friends and enemies on a daily base. From the start, the characters expect their current adventure will be their last 'None of them expected he would ever see his homeland ... They knew too well the way it was before, how often the Danes had fallen prey to death in the mead-hall.' (691-696). Despite their knowledge of death around the corner, they live their lives in honor, hoping that they will die with glory, 'A warrior will sooner die than live a life of shame,' (2890-2891).Beowulf's particular popularity lies within the fact that he is steadfast in his goal, and that 'Life doesn't cost him a thought,' (1537).

The medieval code of conduct, 'I would rather my body were robed in the same

burning blaze as my gold-giver's body than go back home bearing arms. That is

unthinkable, unless we have first slain the foe and defended the life of the prince of the Weather-Geats. I well know the things he has done for us deserve better. Should he alone be left exposed to fall in battle? We must bond together, shield and helmet, mail-shirt and sword.' (2651-2660) states that it is better to die because of courage and loyalty for ones king, than live the life of a coward.

Through embodying true warrior ideals, they hope to live after their time through tales of glory like Beowulf, 'all of them distraught, chanting in dirges, mourning his loss as a man and a king. They extolled his heroic nature and exploits; which was the proper thing, for a man should praise a prince whom he holds dear and cherish his memory when that moment comes when he has to be conveyed from his bodily home,' (3171-3177). The socially necessary celebration and mourning of their lives, though, is generally frowned upon , 'wise sir, do not grieve. It is always better to avenge dear ones than to indulge in mourning,' (1468-1470), what the society does most importantly to the deceased, preserves the memory of them.

While both the Narrator and Character's differ in their beliefs on death and the afterlife, it is immortality and the quest for 'the holy grail' that they share in common. With the Narrator, it is immortality through good deeds that lead one to the hands of God, and the for the characters immortality through 'pursue(ing) the fight for the glory of the winning,' (2513-2514).