Besides reading, writing, and Math, the computer skills can be also necessary for a child

IELTS Writing Task 2 - Computer skills

We have three important parts of education reading, writing, and Math. Some people think every child will benefit from a fourth skill added to the list: computer skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that some basic skills, such as reading, writing and maths, are needed, but children may need a new one additionally, ICTs, information and communication technologies. From my perspective, although children can benefit from brilliant computer literacy skills, it may not be appropriate to apply to every child.

There are a wide range of benefits of adding computer skills to the school curriculum. Computer skills can enhance children's academic performance more effectively. For example, students who lack the ability to utilise a search engine productively may have trouble conducting research, especially finding available resources for term papers. However, children with proficient computer skills can benefit from gathering online information more efficiently and constructively. For instance, searching data pool could enable students to acquire innumerable valid data from worldwide, which is much faster than looking for books from libraries. Therefore, students can save study time and perform outstandingly.

Nevertheless, highlighting computer skills may not be appropriate for every child. In terms of difficulties of learning computer skills, some children who have learning disabilities, such as sight imparity, cannot cope with such capabilities. Those students, who can continue learning the three core areas as a range of school subjects, are already provided in limited study time. In addition, some students with a low concentration on study but online games may be liable to develop an addiction to computer games. Therefore, learning computer skills turns out to be a good excuse for these students to indulge themselves in the world of Internet, which results in degeneration on academic study.

To conclude, I believe that students' academic performance can be facilitated remarkably if computer skills could be trained in an effective way, while it may be unrealistic to require every child to obtain such skills. Whether or not to add computer courses into school agenda, students' computer skills should be taken into consideration.