Sat essay: is it best not to change our ideas, opinions, or behaviours?

We all find difficuly making choices, especially when our ideas conflict with those of others. When shopping online, I often hestitate for a long time if what I would like to buy receives negative remark from other customers. However, sometimes we are more likely to make right decisions if we stick to our own ideas. From US history, one can see how this statement proves to be true.

Willia Loyld Garrison, the editor of 'the liberator' , never abandoned his determination as an abotionlist. Before civil war, citizens in all part of the country regard African Americans as animals and treat them as such. However, William held a totally different view that African Americans were no inferior than Whites. He published an influential anti-slave newpaper, the liberator, in which he demanded immediate emancipation of all slaves without any compensation to their owners. However, because his ideas were not popular, especially in south, Garrison was not received well. During his lifetime, Garrison received more than ten death-threat-letters and one of his abolitionist frinds were murdered by southern extremits. Despite such difficulty, Garrison refused to desert his belief and continue publicizing egalitarian beliefs. Finally, Garrison's insistence paid off that, after the controversial case of Dred v Scott, many northernors used claims in 'the liberator' as weapons against southern slaveholders. Thus, we can say that it is wise for Garrison to preserve his original idea.

Similarily, Ford Frick, president of National Baseball League in 1945-1953, made a right choice through insitence on his own thought. In 1947, Brooklin Dogers offered Jackie Ronins a contract, first African American signed by League teams. Himself an egalitarian, Ford Frick spoke in favour of Doger's decision in public, Unexpectedly, his response provoked a potential crisis. 1\3 of the players in League threatened that they would strike if Robinson was admitted to League. However, the threat failed to daunt Ford to give up his position. One month later, Ford approve Robinson's contract formally and expresed his opinion with a powerful speech stting that, 'everyone in America has the right to work as other citizens. Wharever the consequence, League will go with Robinson.' Inspired by Jackson's admission and Ford's speech, more and more distinuished Negro players attended the League and audience began to accept racial integration in sports fields. Thus, from Ford's case, we can see the necessity of persisting initial oppinions.

On many occasions l, sensible decisions derive fron insistence on own ideas. For one's own idea to produce good results, one must deem his or her idea as true. In the examples above, both Ford and Garrison believed their egalitarian views as morally justified. Thus, we can conclude that it is best for people not to change their opinions they believe as right.