The best way to educate primary school children?

In some cultures primary school children work in formal classroom environments and have a large element of memorisation and practice of skills. In others, children learn through play in a less formal and structured environment.

In your opinion, what is the best way to educate primary school children?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Educational systems vary from culture to culture. In fact the difference is especially evident in primary school children. At this level of education, some schools prefer to provide formal teaching with a lot of practice and effort to memorize the content of a particular course. However, other cultures tend to have a less formal environment on which students learn mainly while they are playing games and enjoying their time. For me, I would prefer the latter, and that is because of three many reasons, namely it is less boring, faster and with the least effort and stress.

Firstly, when students play, they learn a lot of things (ex. social interaction) apart from the subject being learnt, meanwhile they still enjoy the class and they often feel very enthusiastic for the next lesson, this is because children will find the lesson interesting and less boring, just because they actually do not know that it is in fact a lesson, rather they think it is a game. In the other hand, formal ways of teaching get children easily bored; moreover, they will attend classes with much less enthusiasm.

Secondly, when children are comfortable and enthusiastic, this will not only improve their grades and achievements, but it will also provide a faster way of learning. Which I think wouldn't be possible by following formal norms of teaching.

Lastly, this way of teaching is beneficial to both students and teachers, who will feel more comfortable, with less problems in homework, students' compliance and grades; because now the students love school, thus they will make the best they can to get involved in the playing and the other activities.

To sum up, formal teaching might be acceptable in some cultures. However, I think that by withdrawing a child from the formal boring and stressful environment of classical school, and putting a child in a friendlier environment, will make children and teachers more excited and comfortable during the process of education.