IELTS Task 2: The best way to improve public health- increasing sports facilities?

Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that his would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Everybody knows that to stay healthy a person must exercise, eat wholesome food and prefer a life without alcohol, smoking and drugs. One of the solutions governments usually provides to improve public health is building more sports facilities in the area. There are people who find these actions useless and think that other measures should be required. I, personally, agree with the former opinion and believe the increase of sport facilities would have a big enough effect on public health.

First of all, sport facilities are vital for less motivated and busier people. This kind of individuals are more likely to give up exercising and keeping healthy lifestyle, so such small difficulties like long distance to gym or even bad weather can become a great ordeal. By increasing the number of sport facilities in the area such people might not give in their health so easily.

Moreover, the increase of sport facilities can motivate new people to start looking after themselves, since noticing that more and more people round about starts taking exercise in a new gym in the area might encourage a person to try doing sports himself. A great example of this is my hometown Kaunas, where our local government decided to build new eighteen sport facilities in the open air. Now, these open-air gyms are crowded with people.

On the other hand, those people who are less interested in sports and who do not have such active friends might not even notice new sport facilities and will keep living unhealthily. Yet, to be honest, I think that this kind of people will also ignore other kind of measures taken to improve healthy lifestyles. They simply will not care about their health until getting some serious illness.

Overall, every time I go through open-air gyms in my hometown I become more and more certain that the increase of the number of sport facilities is one of the best solutions to improve public health.