IELTS TASK 2: the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences

Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is issue that deserves public attention. For this reason, the majority of people argue that prison is the most common punishment for criminals to ensure the safety of other citizens. While other people believe that there are various ways to punish criminals, I am personally convinced that rehabilitation is a convenient place for prisoners to be better citizens.

It is argued that prisoners will be law-abiding citizens when they were punished to stay in a longer time at prisons. For pragmatic instance, some criminals in Jakarta as capital city of Indonesia had stolen some private cars. By doing so, offenders stay at prisons for several years. It would be better for their personalities because they will learnt the lesson after living at prison which they can do almost nothing with public. As a consequence, prisons ensure the safety for citizens.

Another aim of prisons is rehabilitation. In this place, prisoners receive education of vocational skill because they earn personal skill. For instance, women prisoners at rehabilitation in Tokyo were taught to make shawl from wool cloth. In this way, they learnt in a depth how the first through the last process of making shawl. As a result, prisoners would be better citizens by having specific job skill.

In conclusion, either prisons or rehabilitations are a place to punish criminals in terms for being better people. Where possible, government should choose selectively whether rehabilitation or prisons is the place for criminals based on offender's kinds of criminalities.