IELTS Writing Task 2 - The best way to reduce traffic accidents is to raise the age limit

The best way to reduce traffic accidents is to raise the age limit for younger drivers and to lower the age limit for elderly ones. Do you agree or disagree?

Increasing the age limit for young motorists and decreasing the age limit for senior ones is the most effective approach to curb traffic accidents. I disagree with this perspective.

To begin with, there is no connection between the driver's age and the figures of traffic accidents. In many regions, road accidents do not show less occurrence within drivers between age 30 to 60 than the other two groups. For example, in some busy districts in India, commercial drivers risk receiving a penalty for convenience and more business. In some cases, long haul drivers skip necessary breaks to complete their journey within a shorter time. In addition, young drivers with a new license are required to mount a learner's plate at the rear of their vehicles. They are also charged with stiffer fines if they break rules. Elderly drivers over certain age are required to take regular medical examinations to ensure they are physically suitable for driving.

Furthermore, the happening of road accidents is not always the driver's fault. In some suburb areas, unclear road signs due to weathering and poor traffic infrastructure could confuse road users and lead to traffic disorder. The inadequate number of traffic wardens on the streets can tempt road users to engage in hazardous behavior. Jaywalking, for instance, is common in residential areas where pedestrians perceive that it is safe to cross even when the traffic signal is red. The lack of footbridges and elevators would prompt people to zigzag a seemingly slow traffic flow to travel to the opposite side of the road.

In summary, imposing a higher age threshold for young drivers and lower age ceiling for older ones would be ineffective in improving road safety.