TOEFL: The best way to relax and reduce stress is by spending some time alone.

Hello everyone! I have another TOEFL essay that I would like you to comment on if you could! Thanks in advance!

The topic was really private so I had to include a lot of personal information...(which I try best to avoid) but in any case, hope you enjoy my writing and please feel free to say anything you want!

Agree or disagree:

The best way to relax and reduce stress is by spending some time alone.

Have you ever felt running away from everything such as your responsibilities, your friends, or even your family and have some sense of peace? This thought process is often considered to lead to depression and perhaps even suicide, but I believe this thinking is at times necessary when you begin to feel suffocated by your surroundings. In fact, spending some lone time to relax is far more placid and quiet than relaxing with others. Thus, I assert that the best way to relax and reduce stress is by spending some time alone.

Pace is an essential element for people's lives. People live their lives according to their pace and recognizing one's own preference is vital to reduce stress. Pace differs with everyone, some prefer to live recklessly while some just like to spend their time alone slowly like a cat taking a bath of sunlight midday. I fit right along in the latter. Personally, I adore taking long hot baths while listening to classical music because the sensation is wonderfully relaxing. In fact, many Asian medical techniques involve heat and warmth to reduce tension and rigidity so that the patient will be at ease. Therefore, my way of relaxing is healthy at some degree. Often times I would also read a book, especially tragic stories of the genius Shakespeare. His words fill my heart with lament and sadness but also the sense of tranquility because most Shakespeare's plays turn tragic because of the main character's final resolution for their personal beliefs. Reading fictional characters risking everything for their own ideals is an ideal book for me which I enjoy reading. As anyone can see, all of my personal hobbies are private and discreet. Thus, I believe the best way to relax is by spending some time alone.

Nevertheless, there are people who prefer the company of others and the incessant clatter of people chatting in the background. They might ask a friend to meet at a loud bar or a busy pizza shop so they will be distracted by the things tormenting them and smile after a joke. However, is this really a method of reducing stress? Those who smile from temporarily ignoring their issues and stress will eventually sulk and fall back to depression when they come back to face the truth. In fact, the method of being distracted is a suicidal plan because the stress never release. Instead, it compacts and swells, making it more difficult to ignore the massive amount of stress all congregated like an inflated balloon. On the long run, the balloon of stress and anger will explode, completely obliterating one's mental state and causing them to act recklessly without thinking. They will get desperate to discard all this mental weight off and it could lead to the usage of drugs or perhaps even committing suicide. Such measures are inhumane and harmful not just to oneself but to those around them. Ignoring stress temporarily doesn't solve anything, rather it worsens everything which is why I would prefer to reduce stress by spending time alone.

To summarize, whenever I need some fresh air or vacant space during work or studying, I prefer to relax by spending lone time like a drowsy cat under the sun.