Essay about "Better communication types"

Here is another essay. It will be a very great help if you give me any suggestion or comments on my poor writing for the improvement. :-)

Topic: Some people believe that face-to-face communication is better than other types of communication such as letters, e-mail, or telephone calls. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the advent of technology advancement, the types of communication have been diversified. Not only do people convey their message in person, which is the original form of communication type, but also they start to use a variety of other types of communication tools such as letters, e-mails and telephone calls. Some people believe that the emergence of the new means of communications is far better than the old one-face to face communication. However, I am opposed to this idea for the following two reasons.

Face-to-face communication is more effective in preventing misunderstanding from happening. Due to the distance between speakers and listeners in non face-to-face communication situation, miscommunications are more likely to occur. For instance, messages in e-mail or letters should be crystal clear, unambiguous and articulate which would otherwise cause a wrong interpretation of sender's intended message. However, participants in face-to-face communication can negotiate the meaning at any time when misunderstanding occurs. That is, speakers can correct or reform their utterance if their conversation partners appear to be confused or misinterpret the message.

In addition, another positive facet of face-to-face communication is that it contributes to enhancing the truthfulness of the message. In this type of communication, it is somewhat difficult to hide interlocutor's feelings since the non-verbal communication is involved. In particular, facial expression can reflect the message-givers' emotion to some extents. Thus, the conversation participants are able to tell whether their partners are telling the truth or lie by simply glancing at the facial look.

Face-to-face communication is said to be an obsolete tool of communication due to its inconvenience. However, it is an effective means in that it can block the misunderstanding and the truthfulness of message can be easily detected. Therefore, it still remains one of the powerful communication tools as it was.