A/D: Who is a better leader, an old person or a young one?

Topic: Most leaders or directors generally belong to an older age group, but some people believe that young leaders are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion

A lion army under leadership of a sheep is defeated by an army of sheep led by a lion. This statement shows how important the role of a leader in the success of a society is. However, who can be viewed as a strong leader? Can the issue be related to age? Some people are of opinion that experience would make old people more powerful and influential leaders, while another group of individuals are opposed to this thought. I also think that young people have privileges that overshadow their lack of experience as leaders.

To begin with, the main characteristic a leader, manager or director needs is risk taking. In critical conditions leaders have to make hard decisions regardless of the fact whether their decisions would close them to their goals or not. For example, when Gandhi, the prominent leader of India who was a young man at the time of the revolution, asked Indians to stop using British products was not really sure about the efficiency of this strategy. He had to face hard situations like increasing the level of poverty in India, but he made that decision because of his risk taking spirit. It is psychologically proven that old people are more conservative than young people; thus, they do not possess one of the most significant traits of a leader.

Second, a person who wants to steer his society or even his company as a leader or manager towards a better destination is required to be ambitious. Being ambitious can be translated to having great aims. Similar to risk taking trait, ambition is also lacking in old people. Young individuals are energetic and always have thirst for making changes. Young people know that they have more time in this world to make positive changes, or in other words, they have more hope to create a better future. Even though it is a poignant fact, we should remind ourselves that older people have less willingness to make differences in the society as their time in this world is passing faster and they must leave this transient life sooner or later.

Third, most of the social movements start from universities, where young, educated people are gathered. Such energy of youth must be guided to the right direction by a person who thinks young and understands young people. Who can do that better than a young leader? Nobody indeed. The Umbrella movement in Hong Kong led by a young university student is a clear cut example in this case. If the leader and his followers belong to the same generation, the attachments between them would foster more easily.

In conclusion, we need to believe in young people to take more managerial and leadership roles, since they are ambitious, energetic and risk taker, the features that make them strong leaders indisputably.