Is it better to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway or on public transport?

In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trans between cities.

Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

commuting between cities

In today's world, transportation plays an important role in our everyday life. While some people think that it's important to invest n railways to travel faster between cities, others believe that the government should dedicate money to makes the available transportation system better. It's a controversial discussion, so I will discuss both points of views and present my idea with an example to support my answer.

On one hand, there are people who think that we need better railway so have access to other cities in short time. They think that it could help the environment by reducing the traffic between two destinations, therefore eliminate the air pollution and also save a lot of time when one wants to see his/her loved ones in a far city.

On the Other hand, some people believe that the transportation that we already have, need a lot of maintaining and have much room for improvements. In fact, they think that the most crucial part is the local transportation because we use it more often in our everyday life. For example going to work or restaurant and also for entertainment. So it deserves more attention as well.

In my point of view, I respect both of these opinions, and I believe it really depends on the country and its priorities. For example, in my own country, we need more railways to connect cities together, because a lot of workers have to travel to a big city near them for work, so it will save them a lot of time and also reduce the traffic in cities rush hours and saves tons of money for them.

In conclusion, two point of views plus my own comments about whether it is important to connect cities to each other with faster vehicles or to spend money on the transportation we already have and extend it, are presented in this essay. I believe that it depends on each country plan of development to select which plan is more suitable for them.