Short essay - Is it better to stay on the safe side?

In life we take risks for many different reasons. We may want to win some money and bet on a few sports, stand up to our boss and endanger our position or decide to climb a tall mountain, one which may take our life. Such predicaments bring excitment to our lives and because of them we feel like we can change things, as the future depends on our decision. Whether our choice was correct though, only time will answer, for it may change our initial judgement.

As it goes, if we refrain from taking the plunge, there will be no change, as in no improvement or harm. Such a scenario is fine if we have some future plans or are striving against a goal. On the other hand, an everyday where there is no endevour to improve or to succeed may leave many unsatisfied and empty, because of their seemingly uneventful lives. They might regret not taking the chance when they could.

We often abandon the safe side to follow our principals and as such are satisfied with our reaction no matter the outcome. These are distinct circumstances, as we feel our choice was correct, even if our position in whatever way worsens. Our morals guide us to help a victim of a robbery and assault, even if we may get hurt in the process. There may exist regret if we end up a cripled individual, but apart from such situations, we would be satisfied with our action, as we would think we have done a good deed.

We often change our opinion of our decision as time goes. Immediatly after we take a risk and we find out we have made a mistake we regret our choice. But in time we may be happy with our plunge, since otherwise we would live in darkness, for we would not have the answer to the 'What if...'.

In the end, if we judge a plunge upon our deathbed as correct, then it is correct. That is the final verdict, as time can no longer change our view.