It is better to take a job with a low pay but safe than to take a job with a high pay

It is better to take a job with a low pay but safe than to take a job with a high pay but easy to lose.

In our society, many people have to work to earn money to support their families, and a job is a man's most precious possession. Due to great financial pressures surrounding us, it is essential for people to earn a lot of money. As a matter of fact, many people equate money with success and are willing to find high-pay job even though it might be easy to lose. However, in view of the seriousness of the competition, an increasing number of people would rather take a low-pay job but is more secure. As far as I am concerned, the sort of job an individual seeks should depend on his or her age.

The young, especially the recent graduates of university, who are full of energy and patience, are more likely to take the jobs with high pay even though are high-risk, because they need to save money to purchase the automotive and house, they feel that material things are more important to them currently. Despite the current worldwide financial crisis, the competition of job is too hard, even cruel for the individual, the unemployment is not terrible for the young. Young people, who are full of vigor and encourage, would like to train again or learn new knowledge in order to get better job and make more money as they can. They do not care about whether the job is stable or not, on the contrary, what they concern about is the accumulation of working experience through competition, which is the source of their future success. Accordingly, the young would like to accept and welcome fierce competition as conditions to which they must accommodate themselves, because it is best for them to become stronger. That is why chinese young people like to work in Shanghai or Shenzhen as a white-collar, whose wage is ordinarily high, but not secure.

By contrast, for middle-aged people, in such an era of increasing growth of population of unemployment, they are eager to find stable jobs, despite low wages. Since in the company, young people are continuously recruited to replace the old employees, in this case, those middle-aged staffs have to constantly take actions to prove that they are better than the young men, meanwhile, they are afraid of being surpassed by the beginners and they normally have a fear of losing jobs, which create constant anxiety and stress. That is the cause of unhappiness of those who are well-paid in corporations. For them, losing job is a disaster. Indeed, they have a strong self-esteem, if they lose the job, they will worry about losing the respect of his friends and neighbours; at the same time, they have a family to support. In particular, they think they are so old that they have not enough energy and time to accept new knowledge like young men, certainly they have a great fear of competition. This is why more and more Chinese people are eager to apply for the civil servants or teachers after working for a few years, because these positions are secure in spite of low pay.

In summary, an apparently insecure job with high pay does not meet everyone's needs, neither does a low-pay, but secure job. Only when we become aware of what we need can we make a wise decision. The young would like to take high-risk but high pay job, however, the middle-age people would rather like a secure job.