Better to be underrated by people or to be overrated by them?

Hi, this is a SAT essay prompt:

It is better to be underrated by people than to be overrated by them.

Do you agree or disagree with the statement above?

Can you tell me if I have STRONG reasons and examples, and correct my grammar mistakes. Thank you

All of us have been underrated and overrated by others sometimes. Being overrated makes we feel uncomfortable and nervous, but it is better than being underrated for two reasons. First, we can have more opportunities such as having a good job, or be chosen to participate in a tournament. Second, it makes us reflect and ameliorate our situation.

Frequently, people lost their jobs' opportunities or the chance of being accepted to a university because the evaluators underestimate them, and do not know their real potential. However, if the evaluators consider us with good characteristics that we actually do not have, we can access to more opportunities.

Now, you may wonder what happens if over time people start to know the real us. Here comes the second advantage of being overrated. If people associate us with qualities that we lack, it means that there is a huge possibility that we actually can achieve it. Therefore, with this thought, we will be looking forward to gain the qualities that people overrated. For instance, I have a friend who was viewed as a diligent student by her teachers. Nevertheless, the reality is that she is not so industry. This attribution makes her think about her personality. Afterwards, she became a diligent student just as her teacher considered.

There is a story about a boy whose mother was called to meet his teacher. The teacher told the mom about the bad grade of her son and doubted about his ability. When the mother came home, the boy asked her mom what did the teacher said. His mother replied: "The teacher said you're an intelligent student and do very well in class." Since then, the boy has been working very hard to achieve good grades.

After a careful analysis about the real life experience and the story, indeed being overrated has advantages such as having more chances to perform and to improve. We should not be underrated by others.