A big city is better for children to grow up- TOEFL independent essay

It is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a big city. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to develop your essay.

Life in a big city is not as easy as life in countryside because life in this latter is calm and comfortable. But when it comes to children, I prefer to choose what is better for their future. That is why, I am inclined to believe that a big city is better for children to grow up, in order to get better education and have a lot of activities to do in their spare time.

To begin with, children get better education in a big city. They acquire knowledge in the best schools and by the best teachers because schools in big cities use modern methods and techniques to instruct learners. Moreover, these schools have different clubs and sport teams which enable children to develop their talents and even give them the chance to win scholarships. For example, one of my relatives, who lives in a big city, joined the soccer team of his school, this allow him to win a scholarship and pursue his studies at a ranked university.

Beyond education, children can do a lot of activities in their spare time. Big cities have several amenities, in which children can learn and have fun such as parks, museums, theaters and art exhibitions. They can learn, by visiting museums, the history of their countries. For instance, during my stay in the capital of my country, I visited a lot of museums, where I learnt more about the history of my country. I also visited several art exhibitions. These visits taught a lot about modern art and the techniques used in painting, which I will not discover if I went to countryside.

To conclude, children can live in countryside a calm and easy life compared to life in big city; however, the merits of this latter is countless. As far as I am concerned, life in a big city assure better education to children and it provides them places to learn, socialize and enjoy life.