Toefl: Big city and Countryside both have their positives and negatives

Topic: It is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a big city. Do you agree? Use specific reasons and examples to develop your essay

In modern society, parents always confront problems about the growth of their children. Therefore, the question of whether children should be brought up in rural areas rather than in cities has attracted much of their concern. Frankly speaking, it does not seem unreasonable to suggest that the opposite is true. Living in a metropolis brings children not only modern health care facilities but also good educational systems. Both of these things are essential for the development of children.

First and foremost, health care is significantly important to children' growth. The fact is that little children are vulnerable to sickness, such as cough or allergies because they have not fully developed their immune systems. Just a small change in the weather can adversely affect their bodies. If children live in the countryside, where big hospitals are far away from their homes, there is a strong likelihood that many of them only get treatment from doctors when their problems have worsened. On the contrary, quiet different result could be brought about if they live in large cities, whether health care systems are a great deal more superior. Moreover, city-dwelling parents also find it more convenient to bring their children to medical centers to get periodical health checks. Indeed, cities are better for children than the rural areas are.

In addition, educational facilities are crucial for children's future preparation. There can be no doubt that education is among the top priorities when parents choose the places for children to grow up. Therefore, cities are the best choice. In cities, there are many schools with modern equipment, which advantageously influences the way and the speed children absorb information. There are also classes where music, dancing, or sports are taught so that children are not bound to study academic subjects. This brings positive effects on their mental health. These advantages cannot be found in the countryside.

In conclusion, I would concede that living in the countryside has some positive impacts on children. Nevertheless, advanced medical care systems and modern educational facilities strongly convince me that cities are the best places for children to grow up. Children should be brought up there to ensure a bright future.