[TOEFL] Big company vs Small company

Topic: It is better to work in a large company or a small company

Finding a right job is one of the most important decisions that people face in their lives because their jobs can determine their financial status, lifestyle and socialization with others. In relation to this phenomenon, the question has been arisen as to whether it is better to work in a large company or a small company. In my opinion, I strongly believe that working in a big company is beneficial for one because of its stability and skills that workers can learn from.

First of all, people can be secured with their jobs by working in a large cooperation. This is because most of the big companies are established with strong foundation that makes them less volatile than those of small companies when the nation's economy is gloomy. Not only that but, big companies may have gone through more experiences and know how to handle difficult situations more efficiently and coherently than small companies. For example, my brother, Charlie is computer designer who has been working in Apple for the last five years. However, he initially applied for a job in a small computer software company which he later changed his mind in consideration of job stability. In fact, that small software company he first applied for had gone into bankruptcy last year when global economy crisis occurred followed by U.S. mortgage crisis. This example illustrates that a big company can offer you a stable job.

Secondly, a large cooperation gives one the opportunities to pursue important business skills. It is common knowledge that most big companies have a variety of unique and progressive business techniques that enable them to outstand among others. Thus, people can be taught of those techniques by working in a big company. For instance, one of my best friends, James used to work at Mcdonald as a human resource manager. When he deiced to switch his job, his work experience in Mcdonald played a crucial role in writing his resume that he soon got hired by the company that he applied for. Like this, the person can benefit from a big company with their long practiced business techniques and knowledge.

In conclusion, although some people may prefer working in a small company for its family-like work environment and a faster promotion, I believe that working in a big company is a better choice not only because it provides job security, but also helps in expanding one's career.