IELTS- Bigger Priority - governments should charge on railways instead of roads.

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

railways vs roads - which deserve a bigger priority?

It is sometimes argued that governments should charge on railways instead of roads. Personally, I completely agree with this idea.

On the one hand, taking a train as transportation can both reduce congestion and make people healthier. Commuters who drive cars to their workplaces are often get stuck in the rush hours due to too many cars driven to their destinations at the same time. However, taking public transportation, such as train, can not only save much money, but also prevent people from being late. Furthermore, the amount of CO2 produced by train is obviously less than by cars. This will reduce air pollution and keep residents stronger and healthier. Governments and local councils should focus on railways with financial supports to encourage more people to take.

On the other hand, most people can not live without roads, especially the residents living in the mountains or rural areas. They completely depend on roads to connect downtowns or rural areas that provide them with enough food and groceries. If governments don't fix or build roads anymore, people will have hard time meeting their basic needs. To take Taiwan as an example, roads are very easy to be damaged by typhoons, and the fixation must be done as soon as possible to avoid people lack of food and help. Government should regularly spend enough money on roads, or there will be a great impact on people.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the benefits of spending money on railways are more significant than on roads.