Bill Gates tried to elaborate several problems that humanity is faced all over the world

Ted Summary- Bill Gates - Mosquitoes, Malaria and Education

At the beginning, Bill gates tried to elaborate several problems that were faced by people all over the world, which were malaria and education as the main issues. In general, he stated that "our lifespan has gone up double and numbers of childhood died". Based on research, children died before age of 5, which proved by the significant increase of children mortality data from 1960 to 2005, about 20 million children. Malaria also was one of the causes of this problem.

He summarized the problem of malaria into a single question: "How to stop deadly diseases from mosquitoes?". The malaria was a disease which transmitted through mosquitoes, which act as vector of the disease. This only could be prevented by killing the mosquitoes and treat the diseases so that it would not spread to healthy people. Furthermore, using bed nets as well as DTD were the better ways to kill the mosquitoes that can be shown by a decrease of malaria for over 50% scientifically. In addition, quinolone as well as its derivate were known as powerful drugs to eradicates the parasites from the people who got malaria. However, the adaptation of mosquitoes should be anticipated so that the drugs as well as the prevention were effectively eradicate the disease.

Education was the other topic that he mentioned by saying "How do you make a teacher great?". Great teacher could only be implemented if the teaching system works well. Although 20% of the top class students could become successful pioneers in the future, there was still a problem in education balance for every student. The opportunity for better education only provided for high income family, while the students who came from lower income family tend to do crime after their graduation. This was proved by the higher rate of students who went to jail after they graduated from their high school.

Apart from that, there was a research about the effect of top ranks students who helped the lowest ranks of students in the class. The result showed that almost 10% of the scores of the lowest ranks could be raised after they got helped from his friends. Therefore, the education balance played important in creating teacher great.