Birth control policy - IELTS writing task 2 practice.

Hello, I am an undergraduate from Taiwan. I am preparing for IELTS writing by myself and need some advice. This is my first time using the websites, so please pardon me if I got anything wrong. Any suggestion is appreciated, thanks a lot!

birth rate in developed countries have been decreasing

Many people today, especially in the developed world, are choosing to have fewer children, or none at all.

Why is this happening, and do you think it is a good trend?

Recently, there are more and more people in developed countries deciding not to have as many kids as before. However, I think this is not a good sign. In the following essay, I will explain the reason for this and present my own opinion.

One of the cause may be birth control policy imposed several decades ago. At that time, there were too many new born babies, so the government call for family planning. This concept has been deeply rooted in many people's heart since then. Second, as the social values change over time, more and more young couples disagree with the idea that they are obligated to sacrifice their youth or freedom so as to bear and raise children. Instead, they have their own dream or goal to pursue.

In my opinion, economically, having less children born means that there will be fewer workers in the future, which may cause a dramatic decrease in a nation's productivity and economy growth. Moreover, I personally think that though having a child or more than one is a heavy burden and can be exhausting, it is definitely worthwhile and a strong sense of accomplishment to see your own children growing up and enjoy the laughter during the process.

In conclusion, because of some policy carried out years ago and the change in people's thinking, birth rate in developed countries have been decreasing, which may lead to some negative effects. Therefore, both the governments and the people should come up with some methods to solve this problem.