GRE; Blogosphere & Social media Vs Quality of political discoure in the US

CLAIM:The emergence of the online "blogosphere" and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

REASON: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political opinions will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

ISSUE ESSAY

With the advent of information technology into human civilization, there has been a constant evolvement of information dissemination and social networking and media is a very apt example of the same. But it is imperative to recognize it as a boon and a bane.

While social media tools like Facebook and Twitter have helped in bringing the global community closer, there is also the question of the amount of information that should be put on it and the requisite security and privacy guidelines. Moreover, with the development of a new culture of 'blogging' everyone feels the urge to express themselves on everything. They see it as a way of showcasing their creative talents to the world which would otherwise be difficult given their demanding lives and careers.

On the onset, this culture needs to be appreciated as it increases the awareness among global readers and also could be a constructive way to utilize their mental faculties. But it is also true that the quality and content of most of these blogs is questionable. Often, these blogs and networking sites has people offering bombastic opinions on a varied of topics of which they have little knowledge. These issues are also often of a political nature which may be harmful to the society.

An example of this is the recent growth of terrorist activities in the United States and the rest of the world. These largely extremist groups tend to use social media to express radical opinions about governments and people and this creates unrest in people's minds. They are made to question their identity and often end up on the wrong side of the law.

To conclude, it is essential to realize the extreme impact of writing or publishing anything online and people and institutions need to be vigilant for peace and tranquility to prevail. Also,it should be left to the experienced news agencies and government organisation to be the harbingers of sensitive information.