BOARDING SCHOOL FOR CHILDREN - good option for the contemporary parents who doesn't have enough time

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic.

Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children,

while other people disagree for a number of reasons.

Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence. You should write at least 250 words.

It is often said that living dormitory together with other pupils during the semester is beneficial for children in terms of all-round educational purpose. However, there are opposed views to point out the inevitable problems caused by it, which I will discuss both view and give a short concluding view.

On the one hand, those who support the living at the school cite various benefits, ranging from the development of self discipline to interpersonal skills. Outside of class, children should follow the ground rules given by educators, contributing to self-development for them rather than excessive reliance on their parents. Furthermore, it appears quite obvious that children might learn naturally the way of life as a group member, for instance with manners in shared room, and attitudes to respect the different life styles from their room-mates. As a last point, some people point out realistic advantages for the children whose parents are dual-incomes, meaning that parents does not have enough time to spend with them.

By contrast, opponents of this view remark that it will inevitably decrease the emotional bond between the children and the other family members including parents and siblings. Besides, children are easily affected by the external circumstances, meaning that they could learn bad behaviour by their age-groups. In that case, it is difficult for parents to guide their children, and they just have to rely on the school system. Lastly, the high cost of living at the school might be a reason why some parents hesitate it.

Overall, it appears to me that boarding school is a better option for the contemporary parents who does not have enough time due to the daily works, but at the same time it needs some supports to bridge emotional distance among parents and children.