IELTS Book 10 Test 3 Task 2- more similarities between different countries

Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is often said that countries are becoming more identical than ever before. This is because nowadays people are able to reach the same products anywhere in the world . I completely agree with this and I believe this phenomenon is a positive development.

The first advantage of this development is that it fosters world economic development. With free flow of products due to globalisation, people from all over the world can now access to diversified goods, this helps logistics industry thrives and boosts economic development. Meanwhile, by the time citizens commute to work or travel, they would miss the taste of their hometown food, availability of same products around the globe can then serve give them a sense that they are not far from their home country. This further allows the free flow of experts and talents across countries without the restriction of the lack of hometowns' necessity and food. For instance, Canada is an international country with products supplied from everywhere, this can cater for every people's need and has attracted worldwide talents.

On top of economic development, products existing everywhere can create social harmony. As we all know, products are carriers of a country's culture, what we experience from a product are what the country's social value reflects. Through understanding the usage and stories behind the product, we learn to accept and respect the cultural differences between countries. As time goes, we are tranied to become a better global citizen by having mutual respect towards one another. An example is that Kimchi is a well known korean food which conveys the korean culture- healthy life style through food fermentation. The more culture we understood, the better social atmosphere we can create.

In conclusion, availability of same products across places may reduce the uniqueness the each country, we should never neglect the benefits it brings in terms of ecnomy and society.