( IELTS essay) Brain drain: wealthy nations should compensate poor countries?

More and more professionals are moving from developing countries to rich countries to fill the vacancies of specialist. Some people believe that by encouraging the movement of such people, rich countries are cheating poor countries. Others feel that it is only part of the natural movement of workers around the world. Do you think rich countries should compensate poor countries for the people they encourage to come?

Brain drain refers to the movement of highly skilled or qualified manpower from one nation to other, probably from poor to rich nation through immigration. This exodus of people in search of greener pastures has been a phenomenon since time immemorial. Though these rich countries are stealing skilled professionals from poor countries, I do not fell it should be compensated by developed nations.

To begin with, in poor countries, many of the highly skilled professionals are continuing unemployed or underemployed. Some people argue that the developed countries are getting skilled and qualified professionals without making any investment for their education or training. It is true that, professionals from poor countries must save their own countries as they their native societies spend resources for educating and training them. Besides, these people need the expert service for the progress of their economy and people. The other side of the coin is that, individual have the right to decide where to live and work. Apparently, the developed countries find themselves without enough workers to feed their development, try to attract skilled labors by giving higher salaries and other facilities.

Nevertheless, poor nations asking compensations from rich countries for the skilled workforce is irrational. The foreign exchange by these people contributes a lot to support the economic progress of their mother country. After acquiring advanced skills and qualifications from other nation, some people returns home. There are others who, invest a portion of their income in their own countries. Moreover, lots of people help their relatives back home in meeting their livelihood. All these measures boost the living status of native people. Thus, these people return their gratitude for spending the resources for their education and training. Allowing emigration can prevent social unrest due to unemployment.

In summary, it is a natural process, that skilled professionals are leaving their poor countries for rich nations to get the job of their choice. It should not be taken an issue between governments. In this process, developed nations have no obligation to pay poor nations for their professionals.