IELTS task 2: What to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers.

Hellooo Freinds...

I'm preparing an IELTS exam. I need feedbcak. Task Response, Coherence and Cohesion, Lexical Resource and Grammar.

Question:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Answer:

News has been part of our life for decades. Many people work behind the process of news making, includes news editor who is fully responsible for picking up suitable news to broadcast or print. There are some considerations used by news editor. One of the considerations is on the location where the events happened. Take a local newspaper for example. Whenever there are some big issues blown up, both in the capital city and in the city itself, the news editor of the local newspaper is going to pick the local issue rather than capital city one. This condition occurs because the sense of local people to local news is bigger.

Another consideration used is on the popularity of the news. Some magazines might take news which discusses 'hot issue' because they see from 'selling point' that they are going to get by blowing up the news. For sure, this consideration is also matched with the characteristics of the media itself. News editor will not harm the reputation of the media by picking up wrong news.

Having above considerations does not guarantee readers will always get good news. Some people realize that the news published or broadcasted is categorized as bad news but they keep reading it as there is only one local newspaper existed in their city. This condition existed since many of them believe that someday, there will be a betterment in the news' quality as time goes by. This expected condition is hoped to achieve because a better quality of news will also affect many sides of life, including better information for the all readers. Let us take students as the example. Students who read good news will be able to learn from fact ideally. They will get a wider point of view if they are getting the access to get reliable information from the news.

To conclude, I believe that good news will be better for the readers as they can get trustful and qualified information. By balancing the guideline of the media to publish the news and the criteria of good news, both sides will get equal benefit.