IELTS TASK 2 Brought up in a village or a city

Q: Should child be brought up in a village or a city?

Education for children is now a great concern of parents. Many people believe that raising children in cities is a better option while others prefer the countryside as a better environment for children. In this essay, we will discuss both sides of this issue.

First of all, the countryside provides children with comparative development in terms of health and freedom. In other words, children enjoy the peace without air pollution as well as traffic noise. Equally important, by having a childhood in a rural area,, children definitely have more places to play with their friends in stead of spending much time on computer games, for example. In addition, student in the countryside are put less pressure on studying. Consequently, they certainly have more time hanging out with their friends.

On the other hand, despite these benefit, raising a family in the country is difficult because of the poor health care and inadequate school system. These are reason why some people support living in a city. It is the fact that some areas especially ethnic minorities lack basic medical services and in case of emergency children are often sent to central hospitals. This can be solved if living in a city. Another advantage of a city is that children are educated with advanced standards. For example, schools are equipped with libraries, laboratories and English rooms. Furthermore, Students have more opportunity to participate in social activities and language centers.

In conclusion, considering the facts outlined above, I am in favor of the latter as children need qualified eduction in order to adapt to the high competition. However, living in a countryside does not mean children can not compete with others.