TOEFL : business research or agriculture research. What do you recommend for your country?

TOEFL Independent Writing Task:

A university plans to develop a new research center in your country. Some people want a center for business research. Other people want a center for research in agriculture (farming). Which of these two kinds of research centers do you recommend for your country? Use specific reasons in your recommendation

Response:

Research is an important element that helps in development of a country. It is essential that there is a significant amount of contributions in research so that new discoveries and answers to the unknown phenomena are found. If a university plans to develop a new research center in my country, I will recommend a center for research in agriculture ( farming). The reasons for the same are illustrated in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, in Indian sub-continent farmers face large number of problems in farming. They are not able to get appropriate pesticides as the pests have become resistant to them. Further, there is lack of efficient irrigation techniques that could help in the growth of crops. So, there is a need for research in agriculture to research the solutions for these problems. Scientists can help in the research of new pesticides or help farmers in finding a substitute that can block the growth of pests.

Second, the temperature and atmosphere vary abruptly destroying the crops either by drought or by flooding. So, farmers don't have the knowledge and availability of methods to prevent such scenarios. A research center in agriculture can assist farmers by researching new techniques and methods.

Third, there is a dearth of research centers for agriculture research in India. Majority of research is in fields such as defense, technology etc. So, farmers have to follow traditional techniques to prevent harm to their crops and use pesticides, techniques without knowing the actual impact to their lands. Moreover, a research in agriculture can help in reducing money spent by government for agriculture.

To sum up, a university should plan to develop a research center in my country for research in agriculture (farming). This research can also help farmers in using genetically modified crops that will be more beneficial for the public and will cost less in terms of raising and irrigating the crop.