Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal, eg. cooperative skills

(11/05/2019)

Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills, such as cooperative skills.

What are the causes and suggest some possible solutions?

Nowadays, while interactive skills are integral part of career progression, some employers perceive that they are also weaknesses which appear on most of recruits. Although there will be some known reason for this phenomenon, solutions can be taken to mitigate this problem.

There are a number of reasons for new employees having poor interpersonal skills, which are found in the home and in the school. In terms of the school, the curriculum includes a great deal of teacher-led lessons and evaluating student's performance is by taking part in formal examinations instead of doing group works. As a result, youngsters spend more time on seeking some academic achievement which seems to be top-priority. Furthermore, at home, close-knit families are a thing of the past in the most communities. This may result of each member of family starting to live isolation with society and lack some necessary skills.

In order to enhance interpersonal skills of recruits, some solution can be carried out to solve the causes mentioned above. First of all, curriculum of school in each level of education should supplement subject such as working in group as an official subject. Moreover, not only are grades based on formal examinations, but also on group work in order to make sure the comprehensive development of students. Secondly, in order to conduct a business efficiently, the firm need to organize outside activities to evaluate and strengthen their interpersonal skills. Challenging activities including mountain-climbing or camping, for example, will expose their employees to work in group. Consequently, interpersonal skills will be enhanced substantially and also have positive impact on productivity of company.

In conclusion, although there are various factors leading to lack of interpersonal skills among recruits, measures can be implemented to tackle this issue.