Businesses and their profit - they should protect the environment instead and help others in need

Hello everyone. I am Kadir and I am currently preparing for TOEFL.

I wrote a essay about this topic. Thanks in advance.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Businesses should do anything they can to make a profit. Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Deciding what businesses should do has always been a critical issue. These days, the number of companies who only aim to make a profit has been increasing and there is a notion in people's mind that they can do anything to augment the companies' profit. However, contrary to many people, I personally believe that businesses must consider other things other than just making a profit for several reasons.

To begin with, I believe that businesses should consider the environment, because people's lives still depend on nature. Thinking about businesses without people does not make sense and therefore, people who control companies should protect the environment. We live in a world with limited natural sources and we must find a way to cope with this problem. If companies would just focus on making a profit, they might not care the nature and do not protect the environment. As a result, they can pollute the air we breathe and the water we drink. For example, a new factory has been build in my neighborhood two years ago. At first, we thought that it would create job opportunities and modernise our environment. But after a while, many people, including me, noticed that they were not using air filter system and it was polluting the air we breathe. After some research, we learned that using air filter system was expensive and the company was paying the penalty for not using air filter system because it was cheaper than installing an air filter system. They were not concerning people, they were just thinking to make more profit.

Furthermore, in my opinion, companies should have social responsibilities such as supporting poor people, the arts and education because life is not just about money. The world is not an equitable place for all people and they do not live the same life. There are many people who do not have the opportunities we have. They do not have a chance to live in healthy conditions. In Africa for example, many people are suffering because of the scarcity of water and food. I personally believe that companies should consider people in need. Even a small part of their profit can make a difference for a lot of people. The company I work at\ for instance, has a social responsibility program for children who do not have money for advanced studying. When we share our profit, we know that at the end of the day, we win together. Because people in my company believe that without people, there would be no businesses.

In conclusion, I believe that rather than focusing on making more money, businesses should protect the environment and help others in need because businesses' lives depend on people and people's lives depend on nature.