IELTS Cam 7 Test 2- Criminal Punishment

Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

No doubt that everyone hates criminals. Thanks to our modern society, most of them are in prison biting bitter caused by themselves. However, there still an argument about how to fix the punishment, simply judge by the type of crime or consider the motivation and the true reason behind? Emotionally, I'm more trend the latter point of view and reasons listed as below.

As not hard to find in history, varies of criminals were appear during wars and the fact is not coming without a reason. By lacking of food, many thieves appear as well as hungry prostitute and envy poor. It will be inconvenient if we really blame them committed crime. Admittedly, it should be punished for crime, but under certain circumstance civilized regulation can't beat human nature fighting for survive. Moreover, even in modern society, truth always hidden in fact. Take school teenagers as example, although hardly to claim it as crime, but bully and abuse are usually the real reason causes fight or hurt. Lastly, we have to admit laws and regulation not always right. As a certain rules of people's behavior, laws and regulations usually need to be revise and develop all the time. If we simply fix crimes according the first edition of laws and ignore the changing motivation will not convinced by judges or general public.

In conclusion, even criminals are hateful, but the motivation for committing it still cannot be ignore. Not only it could help judges fix punishment more convincible, but also the motivation could be educational to the society and avoid it as much as we can.