Cambridge FCE: WRITING ABOUT FOREIGN LANGUAGE KNOWLEDGE

Practicing for Cambridge FCE

Task: Is learning to speak a foreign language as important these days as it was in the past?

Write an essay giving your opinion.

It is widely believed that improving skills in a new language is more important nowadays then it was previously. The advent of the internet, the increase in the demand of international trips and the necessity of other languages to work explain it.

Firstly, different languages are resquested when you are browsing online.

Furthermore, whether you want to research something online, you need to master more than one language since you will find lots of websites from other countries with essential pieces of information.

Secondly, it is recommended to know at least English when you are going to travel so you can communicate with people around the world. Notwithstanding, nowadays it is possible to use some cellphone apps to translate words you do not know, which was impossible in the past.

Finally, looking for a job in a multinational company demmands you more than one language given that you have to talk with employees in other countries. What is more, the company provides training which are in different languages and you have to take part.

Summarizing, from a personal perspective, it is evident that mastering different languages is currently more important than in the past.