Camille A. Brown talks about dance, and specializes in social dance

TED SUMMARY: A Visual History Of Social Dance In 25 Moves by Camille A. Brown

Camille A. Brown talks about dance, and specializes in social dance. It is an universal language for all people across the globe. It is also an expression that emerges from a community. It is not choreographed by any one person. It can not be traced to any one moment . As result, it rose dramatically, changes, and spreads like wildfire. Camille stated that the present always contains the past. Then, she starts to share about the Juba dance which is from Ensloved Africans' experts in plantation. It was about keeping cultural traditions alive and retraining a sense of inner freedom creativity. Cake Walk dance is coming up then. It was performed by the high class community. After that, she tells about Charleston which was famous in 1920s. And right now it is called Funky harleston. This kind of dance is suitable with children as it is a fun dance. All of these dances continue to evolve, grow, and spread. All in all, she stated that at present, social dance is about community connection. If someone know the step, it meant he/ she belonged to a group. So let us move, express freely, and dance together.