Car-free days or other ways to reduce air pollution.

Topic: Some people think international free-car days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

long-term plans and solutions for clean environment

Air pollution has become an issue of broad interest to the general public. Some people believe international car-free days are essential in limiting air pollution level. Others claim that various different measures should be applied. As far as I am concerned, a variety of ways should come into effect rather than only car-free days are introduced.

On the one hand, days without automobiles bring about certain benefits to the environment. As we all know, cars play a crucial part in residential life because people throughout the world utilize them on a daily basis. Automobiles are used as vehicles to commute to work and travel to schools and therefore play an indispensable role in daily life. Consequently, car-free days are applied in order to control the volume of cars on the streets. The aim of this practice is to decline carbon dioxide gas emitted excessively from cars. By prohibiting automobile use on some days, a huge amount of greenhouse gases are reduced and this way also encourages citizens to make use of public transport.

On the other hand, I strongly believe there are much more effective solutions to tackle the air contamination. Authorities should launch environmental campaigns to raise citizens' awareness, changing people's behaviours. Knowledge from the programs can help individuals be more energy efficient on a regular basis such as flying less, using bicycles and buses. Another measure is governments can impose 'green taxes' on factories which pump pollutants into the atmosphere. This law can act as a deterrent to bar factories from releasing gases tremendously. It is obvious that international car-free days are a temporary plan because on the other days, residents will certainly utilize them again. Nevertheless, information dissemination and regulations are such long-term strategies that can be used to mitigate the air pollution level day by day.

In conclusion, even though free-car days are beneficial, I agree with many long-term solutions. When educating local inhabitants or introducing strict laws to society, they will have permanent influences on people's awareness.