Cars Ownership and Traffic Jam: Examples and Measures - [IELTS TASK 2]

Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'.

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In several decades, the structure of society is becoming more complex than we can ever imagine. This phenomenon leads to the increasing of mobility of society. Consequently, the need of private car is booming. Moreover, many cities are suffering from 'one big traffic jam'. Regarding to these issues, I believe that the statements are true and government should take some measures to overcome this problem.

Looking at car ownership, developing countries experience high growth of sales of cars in recent years. Obviously, by the low growth of road construction, there will be worse traffic in big city, like Jakarta. In Jakarta, people everyday face traffic congestion on peak hours. Around the globe, the same situation happens in Beijing and Mexico City. By these examples, we may say that the rapid growth of car ownership leads to horrible traffic congestion.

If we take a look on the measures that government should make, I personally propose the measures that will give disincentive on buying a new car or an additional car. Logically, government may charge tax to the company so the price of the car will be higher. The alternative option is to tax the owner of the car, taxing for the initial car or for the additional car. In the other hand, government may regulate the price of gasoline higher so that the maintenance cost of having cars is relatively high. These kinds of effort will be disincentives for citizens on having cars.

To sum up, there are many proofs that the increase of car ownership has consequence on traffic congestion. To solve this problem, government may have three options, including charging tax on company, on the owner of car, and rising up the cost of maintenance of having cars. If this problem is not solved soon, this will seriously get worse year by year.